SS11: Sebastien Ogier sets fastest time again – “Nicest stage so far!”

Toyota's Sebastien Ogier leads the Rally Sardinia with only one special stage remaining on Saturday.
Sebastien Ogier
Sebastien Ogier. Photo: Toyota Gazoo Racing
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp

Ogier set the fastest time on the 11th special stage of the rally, beating Ott Tänak by over six seconds. In the overall standings, the Frenchman’s lead is now 16.2 seconds ahead of Tänak.

“I think it was the nicest stage so far this weekend. Very nice grip, smooth and flowing. I focus on my own car, I keep going. This condition I like, not thinking too much about the race. I enjoy it,” Ogier commented.

Hyundai driver Tänak hinted after the earlier stages that the team might have instructed him to drive conservatively. Regardless, the Estonian was not satisfied with his second run on Monte Lerno.

“No different, grip was a little bit higher. Less mechanical grip,” Tänak lamented.

In third place is Hyundai’s Dani Sordo, who is already over two minutes behind the leader. In fourth place is Toyota’s Elfyn Evans.

“The grip is really high, but I really enjoyed driving the car. I don’t know how the tyres are but I tried to push because tomorrow is a tricky day,” Sordo commented.

Sami Pajari continues his impressive rally, holding fifth place overall. Pajari leads the WRC2 class. Behind Pajari, in sixth place overall, is Ford Rally1 driver Gregoire Munster.

One more special stage remains on Saturday in the Rally Sardinia. The competition ends on Sunday.

Rally Sardinia standings after SS11/16:

1.Sebastien OgierToyota2.30.39,2
2.Ott TänakHyundai+16,2
3.Dani SordoHyundai+2.11,2
4.Elfyn EvansToyota+2.43,7
5. Sami PajariToyota+5.14,3
6.Gregoire MunsterFord+5.16,1
7.Yohan RosselCitroen+6.:16.6
8. Jan SolansToyota+6:22.0
9.Kajetan KajetanowiczSkoda+7:46.1
10.Martin ProkopSkoda+7:56.0

Itinerary for Rally Sardinia (CET):

Friday 31.5.

08.01 Shakedown: Ittiri (2,08 km)
14.33 SS1: Osilo - Tergu 1 (25,65 km)
15.33 SS2: Sedini - Castelsardo 1 (13,26 km)
17.33 SS3: Osilo - Tergu 2 (25,65 km)
18.35 SS4: Sedini - Castelsardo 2 (13,26 km)

Saturday 1.6.

07.41 SS5: Tempio Pausania 1 (12,03 km)
08.49 SS6: Tula 1 (22,61 km)
10.41 SS7: Tempio Pausania 2 (12,03 km)
11.49 SS8: Tula 2 (22,61 km)
14.05 SS9: Monte Lerno - Monti di Ala 1 (25,33 km)
15.05 SS10: Coiluna - Loelle 1 (14,53 km)
17.05 SS11: Monte Lerno - Monti di Ala 2 (25,33 km)
18.05 SS12: Coiluna - Loelle 2 (14,53 km)

Sunday 2.6.

08.00 SS13: Cala Flumini 1 (12,55 km)
09.05 SS14: Sassari - Argentiera 1 (7,10 km)
11.00 SS15: Cala Flumini 2 (12,55 km)
12.15 SS16: Sassari - Argentiera 2 (7,10 km) *Power Stage

Also check out