SS3: Another fastest time for Sebastien Ogier, tyre puncture for Ford driver

Toyota's Sebastien Ogier was once again the fastest on the Osilu-Tergu special stage on Friday in Rally Sardinia.
Sebastien Ogier.
Sebastien Ogier. Photo by: Toyota GAZOO Racing WRT
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp

Ogier set the fastest time on the longest stage of the event, this time with a 2.9-second lead over Hyundai’s Ott Tänak. In the overall standings, the multiple champion Ogier remains in the lead with a 4.7-second advantage over the Estonian driver.

“This one we couldn’t really push, I wanted a clean drive but it’s so abrasive and I had to save the tyres,” Ogier summarised.

“Difficult to say, I was managing the tyres and hope to have some rubber for the last stage, a clean stage so no drama,” Tänak commented.

In third place is Hyundai’s Dani Sordo. The experienced Spaniard is 25.3 seconds behind the leader.

“I was really bad earlier, also now a little bit as I worry about the tyres. It is hard because we took five tyres so we can’t push like normal,” Sordo explained.

In fourth place is Toyota’s Takamoto Katsuta, only 2.3 seconds behind Sordo in third. In fifth is the championship leader Thierry Neuville, ahead of M-Sport Ford’s Adrien Fourmaux, who suffered a tyre puncture on the third stage. Fourmaux had been in third place before his slow puncture.

Toyota’s Elfyn Evans is in sixth place. He is only 0.3 seconds behind Fourmaux, but already 50.2 seconds behind the rally leader.

“Quite okay, things aren’t going great at the minute but we’re through,” Evans said.

There is still one more special stage to be driven on Friday in Rally Sardinia. The event concludes on Sunday.

Rally Sardinia standings after SS3/16:

1.Sebastien OgierToyota44:06.3
2.Ott TänakHyundai+4.7
3.Dani SordoHyundai+25.3
4.Takamoto KatsutaToyota+27.6
5.Thierry NeuvilleHyundai+40.5
6.Adrien FourmauxFord+49.9
7. Elfyn EvansToyota+50.2
8.Gregoire MunsterFord+52.8

Itinerary for Rally Sardinia (CET):

Friday 31.5.

08.01 Shakedown: Ittiri (2,08 km)
14.33 SS1: Osilo - Tergu 1 (25,65 km)
15.33 SS2: Sedini - Castelsardo 1 (13,26 km)
17.33 SS3: Osilo - Tergu 2 (25,65 km)
18.35 SS4: Sedini - Castelsardo 2 (13,26 km)

Saturday 1.6.

07.41 SS5: Tempio Pausania 1 (12,03 km)
08.49 SS6: Tula 1 (22,61 km)
10.41 SS7: Tempio Pausania 2 (12,03 km)
11.49 SS8: Tula 2 (22,61 km)
14.05 SS9: Monte Lerno - Monti di Ala 1 (25,33 km)
15.05 SS10: Coiluna - Loelle 1 (14,53 km)
17.05 SS11: Monte Lerno - Monti di Ala 2 (25,33 km)
18.05 SS12: Coiluna - Loelle 2 (14,53 km)

Sunday 2.6.

08.00 SS13: Cala Flumini 1 (12,55 km)
09.05 SS14: Sassari - Argentiera 1 (7,10 km)
11.00 SS15: Cala Flumini 2 (12,55 km)
12.15 SS16: Sassari - Argentiera 2 (7,10 km) *Power Stage

Also check out