SS4: Dani Sordo sets fastest time again – “I enjoyed this stage”

Hyundai’s Spanish driver, Dani Sordo, clocked the fastest time for the second consecutive stage in the Rally de Portugal.
Dani Sordo
Dani Sordo. Photo by: Jaanus Ree / Red Bull Content Pool
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp

Sordo completed the Góis special stage 1.8 seconds quicker than Toyota’s Kalle Rovanperä, who came second. In the overall standings, Sordo moved up to fifth, just 6.4 seconds behind the leader, Toyota’s Takamoto Katsuta.

“I enjoyed this stage a lot! I can do these two stages all day. I am happy with the car, honestly on the first stage it was me. The car is great, I have a good feeling. Hats off to the guys at Hyundai,” Sordo summarised.

Rovanperä is running on hard tyres, which performed poorly in the cool, damp conditions of the morning. As the weather warmed, Rovanperä’s situation improved. The Finnish star improved his position and climbed to third in the rally, just 3.4 seconds off the lead. Between Katsuta and Rovanperä in second place is Hyundai’s Ott Tänak.

“It was better in these conditions. With the hard tyre I am struggling with the balance of the car, quite a lot of understeer,” Rovanperä explained.

“A bit surprised. Driving was not good. Quite a mess. Could be much more clean, but yeah, not bad,” Katsuta commented.

Hyundai’s Thierry Neuville is fourth, ahead of Sordo and Toyota’s Sebastien Ogier. The entire top six is within just 6.8 seconds.

“I tried to be honest, not happy with the car this morning. The car feels a bit lazy,” Ogier said.

Ford driver Adrien Fourmaux has started the rally strongly. Fourmaux is seventh, only 10.7 seconds off the lead. Toyota’s Elfyn Evans is eighth, 12.5 seconds behind the leader. Ford’s Gregoire Munster, in ninth place, is already a minute behind the leader.

There are five more special stages to be driven on Friday in the Rally de Portugal. The event concludes on Sunday.

Rally de Portugal standings after SS4/22:

1.Takamoto KatsutaToyota32:10.9
2.Ott TänakHyundai +1.9
3.Kalle RovanperäToyota +3.4
4.Thierry NeuvilleHyundai +5.2
5.Dani SordoHyundai +6.4
6.Sebastien OgierToyota +6.8
7.Adrien FourmauxFord +10.7
8.Elfyn EvansToyota +12.5
9. Gregoire MunsterFord +1:00.9
10. Gus GreensmithSkoda +1:09.9

Rally de Portugal itinerary (CET):

Thursday, 9th May

09:01 Shakedown: Baltar (4.61 km)
20:05 SS1: Figueira da Foz (2.94 km)

Friday, 10th May

09:05 SS2: Mortágua 1 (18.15 km)
10:35 SS3: Lousã 1 (12.28 km)
11:35 SS4: Góis 1 (14.30 km)
12:35 SS5: Arganil 1 (18.72 km)
15:05 SS6: Lousã 2 (12.28 km)
16:05 SS7: Góis 2 (14.30 km)
17:05 SS8: Arganil 2 (18.72 km)
18:35 SS9: Mortágua 2 (18.15 km)

Saturday, 11th May

09:05 SS10: Felgueiras 1 (8.81 km)
10:05 SS11: Montim 1 (8.69 km)
11:10 SS12: Amarante 1 (37.24 km)
12:35 SS13: Paredes 1 (16.09 km)
15:35 SS14: Felgueiras 2 (8.81 km)
16:35 SS15: Montim 2 (8.69 km)
17:40 SS16: Amarante 2 (37.24 km)
19:05 SS17: Paredes 2 (16.09 km)
20:05 SS18: Lousada (3.36 km)

Sunday, 12th May

08:05 SS19: Cabeceiras de Basto 1 (19.91 km)
09:35 SS20: Fafe 1 (11.18 km)
10:32 SS21: Cabeceiras de Basto 2 (19.91 km)
13:15 SS22: Fafe 2 (11.18 km)

Also check out